Augustiner Brewery

Landsberger Strasse 31-35, Munich, Bavaria, Germany 80339
Founded: 1328 Augustiner Website

Oktoberfest Tents
Augustiner-Festhalle
Fischer Vroni
Oktoberfest Beer Reviews

History:

In 1328, when Munich became the royal residence for Kaiser Ludwig the Bavarian, The Augustiner monastery and brewery was completed. The Wagner family’s name was incorporated into the brewery’s logo in 1829. Anton and Therese Wagner bought the enterprise and it has remained a privately-held brewery since.

The earliest evidence of an Augustiner brewery presence at Oktoberfest was in 1867 in an illustration of a beer hut in the “Illustrierten Zeitung.” In 1903, the Augustiner Brewery made an appearance at Oktoberfest with a so-called Festburg, and in 1909 they added a Festhalle. In 1953 the Augustiner brewery introduced a new beer to the Oktoberfest, the light-colored Wiesn-Edelstoff. This golden yellow “liquid bread” has become the de facto standard for Oktoberfestbier served at the Wiesn and has completely squeezed out the amber Märzen beer in all the tents. During World War II the brewery suffered heavy damage but later the building’s unique brick façade was restored to its former glory and is now a historical site. Augustiner is considered the last truly local brewery by the Munich people and is sustained without advertising through its local popularity.

At Oktoberfest, Augustiner is the only brewery left that still serves its beer from traditional wooden barrels. This is Augustiner’s tribute to traditional values and a heartfelt daily commitment to keep them alive in the future. Apart from the Edelstoff, the brewery is particularly proud of the famous Augustiner Keller beer gardens, the Hirschgarten in Nymphenburg, and the large Augustiner restaurants. These are some of the last remaining remnants of old Munich.

Augustiner Mass